Boardman Hybrid Men/Womens?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

X99MYKE

Hi All! Bike newbie here. I have some friends big into cycling and some friends who bike, but just potter about. So I'm definitely after a hybrid so I can get some decent speed on the roads but can mill about the park or cycle paths too.

I've recently took a £1000 cycle to work scheme voucher and had found the bike I wanted which was the Boardman URB 8.6 Hybrid below..

https://www.halfords.com/bikes/hybr...n-hybrid-bike-2021---s-m-l-frames-423974.html

However apparently due to covid malarky they have no idea when stock will be available again. Best guess is August but no guarantees.

So I then came accross this, which is a bit more expensive, but still within my voucher price range... Boardman HYB 8.8 MENS
https://www.halfords.com/bikes/hybr...8.8-mens-hybrid-bike-2021---small-390038.html

Again unfortunately out of stock and same situation... However... The exact same bike in the 'Womens' variant in Large is IN Stock. I did a quick chat with a halfords online person (not the most reliable source im sure). And she assures me the bikes are actually identical apart from base frame size? So if im a Medium size mans bike, If i got this womens bike in a Large? would that just be about right and is there really no other difference? The colour is obviously a baby blue, but to be honest I actually like the colour. Link below

https://www.halfords.com/bikes/hybr...s-hybrid-bike-2021---s-m-l-frames-390326.html

Question is. Is there something im missing in the differences between these bikes? Would I be that guy biking around and everyone looking thinking 'why is he on a womans bike!?' Or is it honestly just colour?

Thanks in advance!

vickster

Legendary Member
Compare the geometries and measurements in the links but sounds about right. You’ll probably want to keep some budget aside for a men’s saddle (something like the £25 charge spoon).