Bob Yak experience.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cacique

I have been pulling one of these behind my MTB since 1995, touring on/off road, groceries shopping, and moving tools and equipment for work.
Now back from a two week tour of Serrania de Cuenca in Spain with my partner using the latest version of the trailer with an MTB and myself using an original version with a Surly Cross Check road bike, I thought it time I should add my comments for consideration.

I think the first thing to understand about the Yak is that it was conceived to pull loads off road and it is therefore very robust and consequently somewhat overbuilt for road touring. Even before you load the trailer you already have 17 lbs of extra weight to pull and transport on a plane or train. This issue could be addressed with the use of more expensive materials and components but would put the trailer in a different and more expensive category. My feeling is the makers stuck with the steel construction and beefy design so they could continue marketing it to do what it does best, giving long service at carrying heavy loads over relatively short distances and off-road touring with remarkable reliability down to a price.

This additional weight then quickly begins to outweigh then benefits of using a trailer as against panniers for the weight conscious road tourer, especially when you consider, as another poster on trailers points out, there is definite tendency to rather overdo your packing simply because you can. The result is a slow ride. On our recent Spanish tour in hot and hilly terrain we were making 50km during a six hour riding day, not spectacular but we were able to carry all we needed for comfort and sustenance for a camping tour where water stops could be as much as 30km apart. We encountered another British couple on this trip our age making 100-120 riding an eight-ten hour day loaded with back panniers and bar bags.