Brand New Cannondale Topstone

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KT004

Hi i purchased a Cannondale Topstone two weeks ago and took it back to shop today as chain rubs on front derailleur. They told me all bikes rub on front derailleur when in certain gears although this rubs in more gears than it doesn't. They then took a link out of the chain as they said it was too loose. This is a brand new chain from factory can this be correct to shorten it and is it correct what they have told me about Gears. I find it really disappointing that this brand new expensive bike makes a pretty ruff clicking noise in so many gears. I'm a newbie so any advice would be appreciated. thanks

Big John

Guru
Did they make this bike up to your spec or was it a standard out-of-the-box model? If it was out of the box then they still need to check a number of things on the bike before they hand it over to the customer. Their reputation depends on this so it's important. It sounds like they haven't done a quality inspection to make sure the bike is exactly how it should be. As for the chain if it had too many links they should have picked this up on the final inspection but usually the chain that comes with the bike is the correct length. I've put together a few new bikes and it was usually a case of put the pedals on, straighten the handlebars and do routine checks on tyre pressures, indexing, brakes and make sure everything was tight with no loose nuts or bolts.

Skiprat

Regular
Sounds like your gears need indexing, google it to see if that looks like your issue. If the chains rubbing in any gear the length should be looked at. Either way LBS should be sorting. I have a topsone too and its a great all rounder, mine will rub a little in the highest or lowest gear but fine everywhere between so not an issue for me.

PaulSB

Legendary Member