Bristol City Centre poor facilities for cyclists!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

runner

Guru
For the last 6 months I have been emailing the traffic and highway dept at Bristol re the state of the underpass at Gardner/Haskin and the PipnJay church. This has remained in a poor state of repair since I have been cycling for the last 10 years.( and I am sure many years before) It seems to me that with a little money (and Bristol should have...green city...sustrans...etc) this underpass could be greatly improved. So who should I take this battle to as I am getting no response from the highways, what about George Ferguson? does anyone else find the state of this underpass repulsive (graffiti on walls, water leakage in the centre when it rains, slippery tiles...need I go on!) We in Bristol have a good and improving cycle system on the outskirts but the city centre remains a real problem and in no way can be seen as cycle friendly.

the_mikey

Legendary Member
It's dreadful, the underpass is an assault course comprising narrow and difficult to negotiate barriers and the surface is horrifically slippery, and the other side is all cobblestones.

BigAl68

Über Member
I agree that is a dreadful underpass especially when it's raining. I personally don't rate Bristol as a great place to cycle despite the money they have been given to improve infrastructure. Maybe an email or tweet to red trousers would get his attention.

BigAl68

Über Member
Whilst you do also ask him if he can get south Gloucestershire council to give the contractors working on the bridge over the cycle path a royal kick in their rears.

OP
OP
runner

runner

Guru
I agree that is a dreadful underpass especially when it's raining. I personally don't rate Bristol as a great place to cycle despite the money they have been given to improve infrastructure. Maybe an email or tweet to red trousers would get his attention.