Broadband speed checker

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Houthakker

A Happy Wanderer
I have just upgraded our broadband to full fibre, and while the enginer was here I did a speed test. I have always used broadbandspeedchecker.co.uk and this gave a reading of 13.9 mb (wireless at the far end of the house) The engineer said they always use fast.com and this gave a reading of 26mb at the same place/time. Does anyone know which of these is likely to be closest to right, and why there is such a spread between them? Or if indeed neither of them are reliable and there is a better one to try? Thanks

vickster

Legendary Member
I always use Speedtest. No idea if it’s any more reliable than any other though!

13 rider

Guru
As an X openreach engineer I used Ookla as my choice of speed test . Testing WiFi speed has lots of variables to get a speed into the house property you need to physically connect to the router .
I take it my full fibre you don't mean a fibre optic cable has been installed into the property rather the broadband is fibre to the green box and through the old telephone network to your house . If it's true fibre those speeds are terrible

Firstly - any speed checker is dependant on the slowest link in the chain
Therefore you should only believe a speed test based on a hard wired connection - not anything via wireless

If you get different result from wired and wireless then this shows a problem with the wireless not the broadband

Second point - I alwasy used to use Broadbandspeedchecker.com - but for the last year or so I have been avoiding it as it seemed to start giving different result to everything else

Based on that I would try a selection of checkers and do several from each one to get anything accurate
I know it is a bit pedantic and time consuming - but taking a single reading can show a problem that is not the real problem - or disguise a problem that really is there