Budget Hybrid for long tour

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Clemontine36

Hey guys,

A friend and I are cycling from France to Bulgaria on the Eurvelo 6 route next summer and I was wondering if anyone had any specific recommendations/tips on which bike to purchase.

I have a budget of around 450£ but would like to spend less if possible, something sturdy and reliable would be ideal!

I'm 182cm, fairly thin, we'll be cycling 40-80km per day and carrying a reasonably heavy load. I have little experience cycling but hoping to change that very soon.

I've been considering several bikes so far:

https://www.adventureoutdoor.co/mens/flat-white

https://www.evanscycles.com/pinnacle-lithium-2-2018-hybrid-bike-EV275572

https://www.gumtree.com/p/bicycles/vodoo-marasa-hybrid-bike/1323540283

Any help would be much appreciated,
Cheers
icon_smile.gif

Bobby Mhor

Wasn't born to follow
I've done a fair few miles on my Marasa.
it has carried my considerable bulk on many a trip..
I did have to upgrade the original wheels (they weren't built for my off track 19 stones)
I did fit 35 Marathon Greenguard tyres instead of the original semi-knobbles

Whatever you choose..
enjoy the ride....

While this isn't as true as it once was, you'll still struggle to get more bike for the money than Decathlon's Triban range.
The stock wheels on the Triban 500 aren't great and the drivetrain is entry-level, but if you view it as a platform for upgrades the overall value for money is excellent.
They do a flat bar variant of the 520 for a bit more than the 500 that looks to be better specced and more versatile.

Switch the wheels for something more rugged, add a rear rack and mudguards and you're good to go.
If you wanted front panniers you'd possibly want to switch the forks.

(Decathlon also has the added advantage of being fairly omnipresent on the continent.)

Last edited:

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
Welcome to CC @Clemontine36.