Buying bike after 15 years+. Tips on 1st bike please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Gunner786

Hi guys.

Am 31 years old and overweight by 15 kilo's lol cos im a taxi driver. Been looking to buy a bike for few weeks on gumtree in the hope of finding 1 used for about £250-300 which brand new is about 600-700.

But just seen the carrera parva on at halfords for £180 and can bring it down to £162 with my AA discount.
https://www.halfords.com/cycling/bi...X40IRrRNSbDEtq-mWvdQP_aqw6SmGPDxoCKmwQAvD_BwE

Is this good for a first timer? Will be mostly road riding in the evenings and not tracks or mountains.
It doesnt hsve brake discs and someone told me you have to have brake discs not the ones this has. Now im totally confused. Dont want to go over budget incase it's just a few months hype.

Im 5 foot 4 aswell so what size frame would i need?

Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member
@biggs682 for his Ribble?

https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/ribble-alloy-road-bike-56cm-reduced-£300.236054/

You don’t need discs for road riding although they do give you better stopping in traffic in the wet

Last edited:
Hi guys.

Am 31 years old and overweight by 15 kilo's lol cos im a taxi driver. Been looking to buy a bike for few weeks on gumtree in the hope of finding 1 used for about £250-300 which brand new is about 600-700.

But just seen the carrera parva on at halfords for £180 and can bring it down to £162 with my AA discount.
https://www.halfords.com/cycling/bi...X40IRrRNSbDEtq-mWvdQP_aqw6SmGPDxoCKmwQAvD_BwE

Is this good for a first timer? Will be mostly road riding in the evenings and not tracks or mountains.
It doesnt hsve brake discs and someone told me you have to have brake discs not the ones this has. Now im totally confused. Dont want to go over budget incase it's just a few months hype.

Looks a good buy for the price. If you didn't take to it, you could flog it for 100+ and lose very litt.e