Cadence - how fast?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Misty

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to this recumbent lark and am at the "how do I make it go faster / how do I make it go uphill" stage.

My background is in carbon racing bikes & I know I've dropped into the habit of riding my upright at a higher gear, grinding rather than spinning - on the upright, I always make it to the top (well OK, I make it on anything up to a 25% & frankly that's good enough!), however slow, but on the recumbent I'm struggling on much gentler slopes and horror of horrors, have had to WALK up some hills that would previously have been a breeze :ohmy:
(My last attempt at a 14% involved steering into the verge at very slow speed and toppling over into a slightly uncomfortable nettle patch - thankfully without any witnesses!!!)

I suspect that I'm replicating the poor upright "grind" habit and need to decrease gear / increase spin on the reumbent to overcome the steering / stability issues I've been experiencing lately, but I'd appreciate some guidance on what a decent cadence range would be on the recumbent.
I have a garmin edge with a cadence meter which I think will fit on the recumbent & with some help from you guys, hopefully I'll be able to monitor where I'm going wrong.... the beeping of a slow cadence alarm would appear to be infinitely less embarassing than picking myself up off the tarmac! :laugh:

I need to get this cracked because I live in the middle of the "Howardian hills" in Yorkshire ... if you can't climb round here, you don't get far!

Many thanks for your thoughts! Suzi

PaulM

Guru
Suzi,