Cadence

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

slettie

Good morning
I am a beginner and some terms is still a bit unclear.Every one is talking about your candence must be 90-100.I am using the application Ride with GPS and there is a Pace.Do anyone knows how that correspond to cadence?
Thank you

Last edited by a moderator:

Shut Up Legs

Down Under Member
@slettie : The experts will no doubt correct me if I get this wrong, but I believe pace = minutes per mile (e.g. "he ran a 4-minute mile"), while cadence is revolutions per minute (rpm), i.e. the number of full 360 degree revolutions your pedal makes per minute. So there's no correspondence between the two units of measure, because you can be using the same cadence but do different speeds.
Hope that helps.

Regards,

--- Victor.

OP
OP
S

slettie

@slettie : The experts will no doubt correct me if I get this wrong, but I believe pace = minutes per mile (e.g. "he ran a 4-minute mile"), while cadence is revolutions per minute (rpm), i.e. the number of full 360 degree revolutions your pedal makes per minute. So there's no correspondence between the two units of measure, because you can be using the same cadence but do different speeds.
Hope that helps.

Regards,

--- Victor.
Thanks,so then I must get my average pace lower.On this moment it is between 3:11 and 3:16.And aim for below 3.My husband's is below 3.

Cadence depends a lot of factors, for me as a commuter and social rider I am not looking for max power or speed so I aim for a cadence that I find sustainable.

A byproduct of that is that as I predominantly ride a fixed wheel bicycle, my pace is fairly constant for any given road condition.

Reactions: mjr
OP
OP
S

slettie

Cadence depends a lot of factors, for me as a commuter and social rider I am not looking for max power or speed so I aim for a cadence that I find sustainable.