Calais to Gent, the best route

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

EmilyCC87

Regular
Hello all,

Has anyone done this route?? I am trying to find the best route but I don't really know where to start...!
we need it it be approx 100 miles, no more. But we don't mind where we go via or what particular route.
I've read up on the best ways of planning a route but how do you decide what roads to take??
And what happens if you start on a road that you really don't like and you want to detour?!
I am very new to all this so any advice woul be great.
We need to complete the trip in a day so we can't stop anywhere for too long!

2 of us on road bike, 3 on hybrids.

Look forward to suggestions/advice

Em.

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
I'd use this route as a starting point, as suggested by ViaMichelin. That's 90 miles.
I have to say, though, a 90 mile day on a hybrid is a bit of a challenge...

OP
OP
E

EmilyCC87

Regular
Will check it out. Thank you. What will make it difficult on a hybrid?
Is it the riding position? My partner has a boardman hybrid but I can't see much difference between that and my cheap road bike- apart from the handlebars and the pedals.

Bodhbh

Guru
I'd use this route as a starting point, as suggested by ViaMichelin. That's 90 miles.

West to East over Flanders at least you're liable to have a hefty tailwind blowing up your arse. But it is a shame to belt that out with no stops when there's plenty to see on the way.

Bodhbh

Guru
I've read up on the best ways of planning a route but how do you decide what roads to take??

Look forward to suggestions/advice

Em.

Once you get into Belgium there should be cycle paths all the way to Gent, it's just a case of finding them. There's definately a cycle route along the coast to Oostende, then you can follow the canal to Brugge and probably on to Gent. If you Google the North Sea Cycle route or search the forums you'll probably find it.

TheDoctor

Europe Endless