car boot sale - any advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Beebo

Firm and Fruity
I'm doing a car boot sale next weekend.

I've never done one before, so do any of you have any advice on pricing and the best way to sell stuff?
Will everyone haggle on the price?

accountantpete

Brexiteer
Don't allow them anywhere near the car.

The first lot of lookers will be the dealers, then the knowledgeable boot goers and Poles/Russians etc and finally the joe punters.

I'd price the stuff up with stickers the day before.

Everyone will haggle - even over the Diamond encrusted 22ct gold ring that you have priced at £1.

pplpilot

Guru
Ah car boot sales, possible one of the greatest places to observe human behaviour (apart from the once a year holidaying family at an airport)

I did one once and I would rather burn my stuff in the garden than do another.

I guarantee -

a - You will be swamped by the 'get there early to find a bargain' hardcore the second you stop and open the car to unload.
b - You will be haggled down from 50p to 25p for the old pair of shoes you only wore once
c - You will be asked if an item could be brought back the following week if if doesn't fit, it's the wrong colour, she doesn't like it, she already has one etc.
d - If you have anything remotely old you will have the wannabe antiques expert keep slyly walking past glancing in its direction until he/she/it eventually walks up and gingerly take a look underneath for a makers mark.
e - You will never do another.

bikepete

Guru
Go by bike trailer! Friends borrowed my big trailer for a pre-moving-house sale, got in at half the price of a car :-)

carboot01.jpg

donnydave

Über Member
If you have a load of DVDs make sure you pack them all in a box easily accessible the moment you arrive, we were swamped by dealers who just wanted to by the whole lot.