Carerra Subway 2 - Changing handlebars

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Martaaay

Hey Im quite new to the scene and am researching how to alter my Subway 2 to go touring next year. After some reading Ive decided I want to see if its possible to change handle bars to something like a butterfly handle setup (see attached photo) while maintaining the current brake positions. The reason for this is I want to have more options to rest my arms/back etc, while maximising handle bar space once I attach a handle bar bag, GPs etc.

I would be grateful if anyone could point me in the direction of wat I might need to buy for this and/or anything advice relating to this. Obviously the main thing I want to pay attention to as well is ensuring I don't upset the balance of the bike by buying/fitting the wrong thing.

Bike - https://www.halfords.com/bikes/hybr...ke-2020---black---s-m-l-xl-frames-346198.html

Desired handle bar -

Attachments

• 0ce82f65c9e80165949a131174700322.jpg
    0ce82f65c9e80165949a131174700322.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 34

RichardB

Slightly retro
Handlebars are a very personal thing. You'll have to try them to see if they suit you. I have many sets of bars in my shed which didn't quite make the grade.

As long as you get the right size of bars it should be a straight swap. Look for the 'clamp diameter' of the bars - where they pass through the stem - as this is the critical dimension. From memory, I think it's 26mm on your bike, but I could be wrong. Easy to check. The brake levers should swap straight over if you keep them on the horizontal part of the bars. Essentially, you undo the plate on the front of the stem (4x Allen bolts) and fit the new bars. Transfer brake levers and anything else you have on there, fit some grips/tape/whatever, and you're good to go.

Before you get into all this, a question - does your current bike have bar ends?