Chain Help?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Col5632

Guru
I've looked at a few threads about cleaning the chain but im still no wiser :blush:

Im new to looking after the bike, i used to think some oil sprayed on would keep it good but thats clearly not the case. Recently got a new chain and cassette on my bike and wanting to keep them good, what should i use to clean the chain and cassette? How often? What products should i buy?

Any help greatly appreciated :thumbsup:

Kiwiavenger

im a little tea pot
i just cleaned mine up with an oily rag i had lying around (cleanish of course) im tempted to try getting a chain scrubber and some dry lube for the summer.

OP
OP
Col5632

Col5632

Guru
Here you go.

The Mickle Method is all you need.

Thanks Ian :thumbsup:

Babywipes ;) I use a ceramic wet lube and for most rides a quick rub down with a baby wipe (back pedalling through the cloth) and relubing suffices when it has been wet. Occasionally I also use the wipes to feed in between the links and cassette to get a deeper clean.

Might give that a try, so what wet lube should i be looking at using?

OP
OP
Col5632

Col5632

Guru
Its probably personal choice but I like to use the Finishline lubes and I prefer their ceramic lube, slightly less muck attracting than other wet lubes and durable, so I can spend more time riding than cleaning ;)

Where do you usually buy yours from? :wacko:

boydj

Legendary Member
My version of the 'Mickle Method' is to use Pro-Link Gold - which is a fairly light, good-quality chain lube - in one of these chain cleaners where you would normally use degreaser. This loosens all the muck and removes most of it and you can then run the chain through your cloth a few times to finish off.

hotfuzzrj

Veteran
Hello all,
I just wanted to join in as I have had a problem with my chain which I think I may have now sorted...