Change in body shape with cycling

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

wilko49

I've been cycling for a few years but this summer I've been doing it more regularly - going out 3/4 times a week and pushing myself a bit harder than previously.

I've realised that I seem to be getting bigger in the neck/shoulder area - my suit jackets don't fit me anymore! Anyone else found that cycling changes their upper body shape?

brockers

Are you sure you're doing it properly? I find lying on the saddle and using my arms to turn the pedals most uncomfortable.

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
Top half is a collection of limp, randomly placed muscles topped by an equally shapeless spread of fat. Think lard spread over a dishcloth.

Legs are solid lengths of shapely muscle, with a thin layer of fat keeping them warm. Think an old oak tree trunk with runny margarine sparingly spread over it.

Wife wants me to take up kayaking, for some reason.

tyred

Legendary Member
Top half is a collection of limp, randomly placed muscles topped by an equally shapeless spread of fat. Think lard spread over a dishcloth.

Legs are solid lengths of shapely muscle, with a thin layer of fat keeping them warm. Think an old oak tree trunk with runny margarine sparingly spread over it.

Wife wants me to take up kayaking, for some reason.

sounds like me.

brockers

On a more serious note it does sound odd. You haven't really explained what kind of riding you do. All I know is that from having a reasonably muscley and well-defined upper body (I used to do shed-loads of push-ups, chins and dumb-bell work), I lost an inch in collar and chest size, my shoulders and upper arms are generally less meaty, and my face became scrawny within a year of doing about a hundred plus miles a week. In all honesty, I really don't like the look and need to start up with the dumb-bells again, or find some endeavour that utilises my upper body.

funnymummy