Changed rear tyre but chain slipped off on 1st use...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Paul Burke

Regular
Decided to do as much basic mechanics on my MTB as I could even though I have no experience at it.

Previously my brake lever had a lot of play in it so I adjusted that and it has been perfect since, and then today I decided to change my rear tyre.

So off with the wheel, old tyre off, new tyre on... and I tightened back up... all seemed ok.

Went on a 3k ride and for the first 2.5k all was well (although it did feel like the back wheel was, sliding, waggling a little??).

Then down hill before I get home I go into 18th gear and the pedals went loose, the chain had slipped off and was caught between the bottom cog and the frame...

I thought I had aligned everything back up correctly but clearly not...

Any advice on what to do please?

Sounds like the back wheel not correctly aligned in the dropouts. You have to pull it right back and centralise it before you do up the quick release, that would account for the wheel feeling odd and probably the chain jumping off the cassette.

OP
OP
Paul Burke

Paul Burke

Regular
Thank you for the reply. My rear wheel has 2 nuts, no quick release, it only has that on the front.

Before I removed the rear wheel I noted that the nuts were not all that far back and one of them seemed quite near the edge (but not overly so)...

When I tried to pull the wheel further back so the nut wasn't so near the edge the wheel wanted to turn and rub on the frame...

Sorry for not using the correct terminology but I think you understand what I mean?

Globalti

Legendary Member