Changing a 12-23 cassette

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jwaltz86

Bike novice here looking for some advice. Been riding a 50/34 compact with 12-23 and been really struggling on long hilly rides. Want to change the 12-23 to something that gives me more gears to play with on hills. Used to have a triple and spent nearly whole rides in middle ring so want something that gives me similar range. Any suggestions? Also is there anything to consider in terms of compatibility when buying new cassette or simply case of taking old one off and new one on? Ones ive been looking at are shimano 105 which is what i have now. Planned on taking to LBS to have this done. Thanks!

A 12-27 would give you a fairly low gear without there being too big a jump between gears even on a 9 speed (you don't say what speed you're running), it would also be ok with a short cage rear mech. Any Shimano compatible cassette will be fine as long as it's the same speed i.e 8,9,10 or 11. It's a simple 5 minute job to swap a cassette over, you just need a lock ring tool and chain whip.

OP
OP
J

jwaltz86

Apologies im running a 10 speed. Much difference between 12-27 and 11-28? Just tempted with extra lower gear on latter as might take bike on a euro trip, or would there be too big a jump between gears? Thanks

User269

Bike novice here looking for some advice. Been riding a 50/34 compact with 12-23 and been really struggling on long hilly rides. Want to change the 12-23 to something that gives me more gears to play with on hills. Used to have a triple and spent nearly whole rides in middle ring so want something that gives me similar range. Any suggestions? Also is there anything to consider in terms of compatibility when buying new cassette or simply case of taking old one off and new one on? Ones ive been looking at are shimano 105 which is what i have now. Planned on taking to LBS to have this done. Thanks!