Charging Carrera Crossfire 2

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

COYR

Loving my Carrera Crossfire, purchased from Halford's recently to ease the pain of lockdown, BUT I'm finding the battery recharging incredibly fiddly. The battery socket has 3 tiny holes into which the adaptor pins are fitted, and a knurled collar then tightens the connection. It's usually taking me a few goes to secure the connection, and I'm concerned that the flimsy-looking adaptor pins may become damaged. (I'm trying to get Halford's 'Live Chat' going, but suspect it's overwhelmed at present.) Anyone else having a similar experience? Any practical tips to help solve the issue?
Maybe it's just me, but also finding the battery release frustratingly awkward too!
The bike itself is GREAT!

You have a problem
I had a similar problem with a Raleigh Array. I could get it to charge with a strong light to see by and several attempts - bear in mind I am an IT Technician so I am used to fiddly connectors etc but this was way beyond reasonable

Also - this was my 3rd ebike so I know how they should work

After a while it got worse and worse - eventually it became impossible and I went back to the local bike shop who were great
I was given a new charger which was better
but after a while that became worse and worse again

After a while I had gone through 3 chargers and it was clear that the problem was mainly with the charger - the threads on the collar were made of metal that was too soft and, combined with the design of the connector being far too small - it just got distorted very quickly

The problem is with the manufacturer of the motor/battery/charger. When I bought my Array the Halfords version used a much more robust connector. It looks like they have switched to the system used on the Array last year
You should also know that I found an adapter on the Raleigh USA site that seems to address the issue - but I have not ideas if it is available or even works