Cheap bike or Mid-range bike debate...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ForDGRedial

Hi all,

Fairly new to the forum but having been nosing around for info. Bascially I want a bike for getting to the station/shops (about 1.6miles away, fairly straight and flat) and for a bit of independence and exercise as I carshare my bf's company car with him. Having not used a bike for about a trillion years...ok so about 8 years, it's been a bit overwhelming looking at the different options. I've decided I want a dutch style/shopper type bike but haven't really agreed mentally on a budget.

Would I be silly to get this bike from decathlon to start me off and then assuming I use it plenty invest a bit more next year? Or should I go for something like this claud butler straight away...?

Thoughts much appreciated!

Amy x

mark barker

Personally I'd go cheap & cheerful to start with...

Augustine

I'm fairly new to taking up cycling again and i went for the cheap and cheerful route. i got a 2nd hand MTB bike off ebay and am using it to get used to cycling again. and it's working! i'm getting fitter, i am really enjoying cycling and i'm looking into upgrading to a road bike in the autumn.

from what i can see, most bikes tend to hold their re-sale value pretty well if they are looked after, particularly tthe kinds of bikes you're looking at. i would guess that if you did start with a cheaper bike and really got into cycling, then it would be fairly easy to sell yours on eBay ( or Gumtree or local paper or through local bike shop)when you're ready for a more expensive one.

OP
OP
F

ForDGRedial

Thanks both, have a feeling I might be dragging the boy to lakeside decathlon on Saturday :biggrin: And there is an ikea nextdoor!! wink wink

lesley_x

Über Member