Cheap turbo trainer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

billy92

After not getting out much this year due to the weather and a fractured hand I've decided I would like to buy a turbo trainer to increase my fitness on top of the daily commute to uni. However, I have no experience with these so I have a few questions

Is there much difference between the different models and brands?
Would I be better buying rollers?
What's the cheapest rollers which will do an acceptable job?

T.M.H.N.E.T

Rainbows aren't just for world champions
Budget?

T.M.H.N.E.T

Rainbows aren't just for world champions
Try gumtree/local free ads/local clubs first. Turbos are hefty so if someone else has taken the wallet hit for postage, you might as well take advantage.

Then again, you may find a local seller on ebay

philinmerthyr

Über Member
Does a bike need and modification to be used on a turbo trainer?

Does using a turbo trainer damage tyres or wheels?

Arsen Gere

Über Member
Does a bike need and modification to be used on a turbo trainer?

Does using a turbo trainer damage tyres or wheels?

I just use my ordinary road bike and don't change anything. Tyres get a coating on them and can wear flat rather than a more rounded edge. Some people use a different skewer. I don't. Some use a turbo tyre to get more grip, they are a softer compound and wear faster. I just use my normal road tyres.
The only damage to a wheel I have seen is when someone did not secure themselves properly and the bike fell out of the turbo and it hit a spoke.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Rollers won't help if you have any broken bones - i.e. you've still got to 'ride' the bike. Turbos are useful if you've got an arm/shoulder/hand out of action.

Tacx do some good ones, even there bottom end models are quality.

OP
OP
billy92

billy92