chinese carbon wheels???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

yeboah

looking advice from u experts out there; im a cycling novice enjoying club runs and sportives! Im thinking of upgrading the wheels on my giant tcr; im not doing time trials but would like to go faster like everyone! are these 50 mm chinese carbons only rubbish or ok for me (they do look cool;-)) 300 quid is my budget; would i be better with 35mm or mavic kyseriums????

MrGrumpy

Huge Member
some folk rate them quite highly, I suppose the question is warranty claims etc. Lets face it the majority of the carbon out there be it frames, stems, wheels etc is all made in China.I happened to be on youtube this morning watching some stuff and was watching some stuff on the chinese wheels, the owners were quite impressed, Novatec hubs etc.

jowwy

Can't spell, Can't Punctuate....Sue Me
I've just ordered a set to slap on my TT bike - 40/56mm front/rear. I'm not really bothered about how the heat up or etc on braking as you dont do much of that in TT's. Also they have a high weight rider limit on them too. if they last me all this season, then i think they will be worth the money. if they break after the first ride then i know not to bother again and buy something were they have invested heavily in their R&D

they should be with me in a few days, so i'll post up a picture of them and give a little review of what i think out of the box

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
Depends on where they come from... some will be good, others not so. Do your research and you should be fine. Planet X wheels and many more like them etc are just Chinese imports with a logo slapped on them.

I believe wet weather braking is pants on carbon rims ? maybe ill informed ?

It is not the best generally speaking.

jowwy

Can't spell, Can't Punctuate....Sue Me