Commute Advice - South Manchester

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mancaus

My wife wants to start cycling to work, from Heaton Moor to the city centre (York St). I've been cycling that way for a few years, but haven't found any route that really avoids the trickier parts of the A6 and A34.

I've considered two:
- A6, turn left just past McVities, then right past Cringle Fields, left onto Fallowfield loop, then A34.
- Fallowfield loop again, but cut through the student halls etc via Ladybarn lane, then across to Oxford Rd, then... ?

Does anyone know of a better route?

Thanks

biking_fox

Guru
Not quite sure where York street is, but I ride to the Uni north campus close ot picadilyl and cnetre. Depends on what you mean by better.

I ride the A6 from stockport upto plymouth grove then across onto the A34 (upper brook st) to the North uni campus. It's a fast efficient and safe route - as long as you're paying attention. The road is wide, cars are practically all (see paying attention) going int he same direction as you, and mostly stuck in jams os they arne't going at speed. The surfaces are good, pedestrians mostly (see paying attention) stay out of it, although there are a lot of lights. But I wouldn't class it as fun.

When it's sunny. You can take the fallowfield loop NORTH then the N6 to Ashton canal, which brings you out at picadilly. But it's longer, glassier, more overgrown, muddier, slower (and fun). Not ideal for going to work, but OK coming home.

The UNi have a cycleride scheme and their horrible contrived route starts near heaton moor, illegally rides across the golf course, does the loop, then picks its way across back streets. It's very slow includes footpath (not bridleway) full of junctions counter intuative, long and very slow. But keeps insecure riders feeling happy. the details are probably on the web.

OP
OP
M

mancaus