Commuting daily on a bike - what are you main problems / biggest bug bearers?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MidasMk1

Regular
Hey All,

Im in my final year at Uni doing Transport Design, and on with my major project, with the idea of creating a few concepts in the next couple of weeks.

One of my projects is to improve the daily commute for cyclists, and my question really, is what problems / issues occur?

I've been out on my bicycle today, and nearly got ran off the road a few times, especially by buses. I can imagine in a more urban environment like this,
that this is a bigger problem? That and the weather are the biggest issues that spring to mind?

If you could share some of your issues / problems with cycling, it would be great!

Thanks in advance

Sam

Turbo Rider

Just can't reMember
Cars swerving into bike lanes pre-pinch point or at lane mergers (two into one).
Unlit roads can be annoying if you don't know the road, due to cracks, pot-holes, etc.
Jammed traffic on tight roads are just annoying as you have to wait around, but that's annoying no matter what method of transport you take and bike is probably the easiest in this instance.
Dazzling car lights.
Dazzling bike lights.
Cars waiting until the very last moment to nip in or out of a road when they could have done it ages ago, which forces you to brake hard.
Random clicking noises which disappear and reappear at random intervals.
Missing a clip in moment and grinding shins or calves on my pedal(s), often resulting in sudden drop onto the saddle which knackers my balls for a moment.
The lines I get on my forehead after I take my helmet off.
Hunger
Exhaustion.
Being passed at a junction by someone slower than me in heavy traffic.
Other cyclists waving at me, nodding at me or otherwise gesturing (though bizzarely, I do respond in kind)
Having to slow down for any reason at all.
Looking like a prick in lycra (though I do acknowledge that this is entirely my choice).