Commuting Hybrid Student

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bonni

Hi guys,
I'm relatively new to cycling, but had a loan bike for the past month and really enjoyed using it as my main mode of transport. Now I'm looking to buy my own hybrid bike.

I do about 8-10 miles a day, on roads, cycle paths and canal towpaths.

I'm quite short (5 foot 2) but like going relatively fast, so something sportier and not too heavy would be good.

Lastly, I don't have a whole lot of money to spend on this. 400 is about the max I can part with for the bike itself (considering I'll still need to get locks, helmet, etc.).

I'm not sure whether it smarter to go for a cheaper new bike or a second-hand one? Anyway, any recommendations would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

vickster

Legendary Member
Personally I’d go for a lightly used bike, something like a ladies Trek FX or Giant Liv Alight :okay:
Check out eBay, Facebook market place but so check that the bikes aren’t stolen!
Otherwise you might find something ok at Decathlon

All uphill

Still rolling along
Maybe there's a bike recycling project near you that will offer you a choice of guaranteed used bikes?

Don't be put off by age and appearance; a well-serviced older bike may ride really well and be less attractive to thieves.

OP
OP
Bonni

Bonni

Maybe there's a bike recycling project near you that will offer you a choice of guaranteed used bikes?

Don't be put off by age and appearance; a well-serviced older bike may ride really well and be less attractive to thieves.
Thanks, that's a good shout. I do keep checking those places, just nothing currently of the right type/in the right size.

And yes, that's a good point.

 Student

Does your college or uni have a bike hub? Mine does and knows where the good second hand places are. They also have hire bikes which might be better than buying (plus if it breaks, you get repared/replaced!).

OP
OP
Bonni

Bonni

 Student