Commuting 'logistics'

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Paspie

I am a student at a uni over 20 miles away and I live in the middle of nowhere (rural area) with my parents. Gave up digs as the quality of life is not good enough for me.

Driving 45 minutes each way isn't too bad, but I thought I could do better as my fitness has been slowly declining for years. The blocker I have determined is that in order for such a distance to be cleared comfortably, a decent road bike would be a necessity, but I could never leave such a contraption unattended. Not sure I could get away with wheeling a bike around the premises, particularly in some of the studios.

To me, it makes no sense to make the investment solely for standalone training sessions as I would forego the chance to save on fuel and maintenance costs on the car.

I'm wondering if my qualms are justified or if anyone copes with a similar situation.

vickster

Legendary Member
I am a student at a uni over 20 miles away and I live in the middle of nowhere (rural area) with my parents. Gave up digs as the quality of life is not good enough for me.

Driving 45 minutes each way isn't too bad, but I thought I could do better as my fitness has been slowly declining for years. The blocker I have determined is that in order for such a distance to be cleared comfortably, a decent road bike would be a necessity, but I could never leave such a contraption unattended. Not sure I could get away with wheeling a bike around the premises, particularly in some of the studios.

To me, it makes no sense to make the investment solely for standalone training sessions as I would forego the chance to save on fuel and maintenance costs on the car.

I'm wondering if my qualms are justified or if anyone copes with a similar situation.