Commuting

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

SAB

Here we are in winter. Dark mornings. Bitterly cold. I can hear the wind from outside from where I'm sitting!

Getting motivated to cycle in the summer was still a bit of a chore. But now I've got more driving force behind it.

Since September I've spent about £500+ bloody on my car and I'm a student so this isn't exactly viable for much longer.

I enjoy it of course but I'm running out of money quickly now and the forecast for money is miserable given insurance, petrol, repairs etc that are going to happen in the next semester alone.

I wish I had what it takes to get on the bike in this weather but what is putting me off is that I get the feeling I'll be killed on the road. Drivers passionately seem to hate cyclists. Sure, not all of them. But where I live making eye contact with them is taken as a bloody threat! Very scary. Risky and off putting.

My car is off the road for the next week it seems. This time the wipers went. Can't drive it in the heavy rain without them. I have to be at university on Thursday for 9.15. 7 miles. I've been contemplating getting back on the bike because it's £8 for a bus which probably won't even stop at my stop like it should.

Rant over. Anyone able to give some words of wisdom?!

crazyjoe101

Where are you based? Standards of driving and attitudes to cyclists do vary depending on where you are in the country but I'd say it's rare in the UK to find somewhere that is truly hostile to cyclists in the same was as say Australia.