Cycle holiday in Italy - Help required

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Richmc

Can anyone help us on info regarding holidays to Italy.

We are both fairly new to cycling but can manage 50miles a day fairly easily, though Sarah struggles a little with big hills :blush:

We didn't want to cart our bikes there so wanted to hire/rent some but not some old jalopy like we ended up with recently in Lanzarote.

Any help on time of year, location / tour operator or insider info would be really appreciated.

Hope someone can help.

Much thanks in anticipation.

mcr

Veteran
Not cheap - and I have no experience of using them (just kept them as a favourite from some earlier googling on the same subject) - but this might help: http://www.bikerentalsplus.com/

jags

Guru
spain is far better better roads better food people much more friendly
cycled italy last year sorry but just dident like it

rich p

ridiculous old lush
I lurve cycling in Italy, friendly people, superb food..... Viva la differenza as we say in Italia!!;)

Richmc, are you wanting to tour or a single base with day rides? With a group or on your own?

OP
OP
R

Richmc

Wanted to tour, but not cart all our clothes etc about too much. don't mind about whether it's with a group, we were looking for something that didn't cost over £1000 for 8 days as some we have seen do.

I've stayed at the Hotel Belvedere in Riccione a few years ago and thoroughly recommend it. Not touring obviously, but they have, I think, De Rosa's as the hire bikes - would still recommend taking your own saddle as well as pedals.

Speicher

Vice Admiral
Sorry to take so long to acknowledge your reply. It looks on the website like a very pleasant hotel, with things to do other than cycling every day.

Riccione bikehotels is about a dozen different hotels, obviously they've got together and decided they can get full outside the Summer season by offering cyclists deals.
http://www.riccionebikehotels.it/en/