cycle racks

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

helenh

Hi can anyone help. I have an old fiat punto and im having trouble getting a bike rack to fit. I bought one from Halfords but it kept coming off the back bumper-my car has a slopping bumper. I just got one from Tesco direct but that will also have to go back as its not suitable for the car although it didnt say that on the write up. Any ideas please. Im new to cycling so not sure where to go.
Many thanks for any help you can give me.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Anyone................. ?

Personally I don't like/use rear mounted racks - I use a roof rack with bike fittings..... the roof bars are new'ish for the car, but the bike racks are 20 plus year old - still fit my 'aero bars' for my car (with mods)....

PS how many bikes are you moving..... if upto two, then I'd remove both wheels of each bike and shove in the boot.....really easy even if you don't have quick release wheels... Punto's have a good boot...

Carrying a bike on the rear, you have to take into account number plate and light obscurity - you might need a towing plate/light unit....

Soltydog

Legendary Member
fossyant said:
PS how many bikes are you moving..... if upto two, then I'd remove both wheels of each bike and shove in the boot.....really easy even if you don't have quick release wheels... Punto's have a good boot...

Depends on your frame size :evil: My wife has a punto & even with the rear seats down I cant get any of my bikes in with both wheels off, slight over hang & tailgate left open :troll:

Globalti

Legendary Member
Save money and protect the bike from theft and damage - just remove the wheels and put it in the boot. That's what your boot is for. If yours is one of the very few that won't take a bike frame in the boot, cover the rear seat with an old sheet and put the frame there.

Bad Company

The Next Stig !
If the bikes obscure the rear number plate you could be fined £30.