Cycle to work scheme. .

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

shanta

Regular
Unfortunately I can not use the Cycle to work scheme as I'm a contractor. However, is it possible for a friend who is allegable to our purchase the bike I'm after and me pay him?

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
I cant see why not as long as you are both aware of all the ins and outs , does his emplyer check that they ride to work or not, final payments, continuing payments even if the bike is stolen/ damaged etc ?
I think in your situation it would be cheaper to get a bike in the sales on an interest free credit deal that many sellers operate or an interest free card as it could work out cheaper than the total cost of the bike on the scheme dependent on scheme length and the final payment.

vickster

Legendary Member
Unfortunately I can not use the Cycle to work scheme as I'm a contractor. However, is it possible for a friend who is allegable to our purchase the bike I'm after and me pay him?
Depends on your morals I guess and also the strength of your friendship should HMRC come knocking for example. It's a tax benefit provided by the employer for their employee to commute to work by bike (although clearly a shed load of abuse of the scheme exists)

Remember the bike belongs to his company, not him, and certainly not you. As above, what happens if it gets stolen, written off in an accident that is not down to a third party...will you still pay him as his company will still take payments. What happens if he loses his job, can't work? How will you insure it? It's not yours, there is no paperwork in your name. If you have a no-fault accident, how would you claim for it against a third party. None of this may happen, but it may do

Not worth the risk, just buy a reduced bike yourself using interest free credit if you can...or save up

Didn't you want a 2k bike, normally the C2W limit is £1k

vickster

Legendary Member