Cycling and Train travel survey

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cainyy

Hello everyone, I am a masters student currently developing a marketing campaign for ScotRail, as part of their initiative to encourage both cycle and train travel. As a result, I am conducting some primary research into cyclists views on both cycling and train travel, including the possibility of combining both in their journeys. Any response would be greatly appreciated, I am unsure if this is a suitable post for the general discussion forum, let me know if it is not. The link to the questionnaire can be found here: https://forms.gle/w6X1fG668jMuUR567

Slick

Guru
A marketing idea for scotrail, how about a joined up booking service for local routes. I could book my bike on Virgin from Edinburgh to Newcastle but couldn't guarantee a space on the train from Glasgow to Edinburgh. Couldn't get my head round that one for quite a while.

OP
OP
C

cainyy

Maybe aimed at folk with folders, for that trip between station and final destination.
Yes, it was asked to see if any respondents to the questionnaire cycle to stations and their motivation for doing so opposed to regular transport like car. Although in hindsight it probably isn't phrased amazingly well! Thanks for the replies :smile:

OP
OP
C

cainyy

Booking bikes on trains is hard
Knowing where to stand on a platform for bike carriage is a guessing game
Facilities for bikes on trains are often poor unless you have a skinny road bike with no mudguards and no luggage.

Spontaneous journeys often impossible or fraught with worry as to whether you’ll get on the next train coming.
Yeah I can definitely see that problem and empathise with cyclists wanting to get the train - things definitely need improving overall in cities for cyclists

classic33

Leg End Member
Staff attitudes to cyclists is something that needs addressing.