Cycling for mental health advocacy groups..

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
The planning and time, reserves of energy and motivation to put your ambition into action is going to need the support of others. So don't take sole ownership, take the lead instead. Ask for people to register their interest in helping you and let a working party breath life into it. That will reduce a significant amount pressure and expectations on you and will deliver results that meet the needs of others as well. Most importantly keep hold of positive thoughts and simply reach out to others - you'll be pushing open doors !

PaulSB

Legendary Member
@wafter I've some experience as a current club sec and someone who has tried to help friends in dark places.

If you were to join my club and suggest a new ride you would be encouraged and supported to do it. I would expect any good club you find to be the same. For most clubs finding people prepared to do something and help out is a major challenge. Do consider it.

If you choose to organise your own informal group I would advise against Ride Leader courses/qualifications. It's a minefield and uneccessary. I suggest all you need do is make clear self-sufficiency is important - tube, patches, pump - and a helmet strongly advised. Beyond that it's simply meet at 9.00 Saturday for a couple of hours ride and chat.

As for selling the idea and getting the message across something on the lines of "life can be very difficult for some, a chance to clear the mind, chat with others, forget daily challenges and enjoy the fresh air" might be a starting point.

As I said I have supported people in the past. It was one of the most emotionally difficult and draining things I have ever done. Be sure to care for yourself first. It is hugely rewarding though to see friends come out the other side with new lives. For my trouble I gained one very close and dear friend who will be with me for life. A thing to cherish.

Last edited: