Cycling/Running comparison.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Andy in Sig

Vice President in Exile
I'm fairly sure that there is no simple answer to this query but here goes anyway: is there some simple rule of thumb or formual where you can say x miles of cycling = y miles of running and vice versa?

I ask this because I've been doing a bit of running with a view to possibly doing a half marathon and extending the running distance, while doable, is a much more gradual process than extending cycling distances e.g. I can extend my long bike run in, say, 25 km stages but my running in about 3 - 5 km stages.

Does for instance my Sunday bike run of 100 km in about 5 hrs equate to a half marathon in two hours?

john59

Guru

Blue

Legendary Member
I'm not a scientist, but I find it hard to believe the assertion that when running the calorie burn doesn't increase with effort. Also, the assertion that headwind makes no difference to runners is unreal.

I used to run long distance races at what could be called 'club' level and headwind and effort made just as much difference as when on the bike - it sapped energy (cals)!!

20-30 years ago I saw a suggestion that 1 mile running was worth 4 miles cycling as far as effort is concerned - which ties in with the overall assertion. However, one has to be mindful that different muscle groups are used in the sports. My marathon times were better than LA, but I couldn't even have kept his dust trail in sight on a bike!!

As blue says, different muscle groups are used in the two sports. If you try to train for a half-marathon by cycling an effort-and-calorie-equivalent distance, you'll blow up after about 5 miles into your actual half-marathon.

Ask any triathlete what the bike-to-run transition is like. It feels like you've got the wrong legs on. As a result, all serious triathletes (not that I was one), will do plenty of back-to-back training - off the bike and out immediately for a run.