Cycling to work

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hello,

I'm looking to incorporate some cycling into my daily commute in order to cut down fuel costs. At the moment I drive 30 miles to work which isn't too bad but obviously the price can mount up, and as I've just 'got the bug' I'd like to put my new bike to good use.

At the moment I'm thinking of parking up and cycling, but I'm a little nervous about leaving my car. There are car parks near metro stations but I need to look into time restrictions (near Sunderland), the other option is parking near my old house, which is in a street that I know is pretty safe.

I'd really like to know what you (the well-seasoned cyclists!) do? I know your circumstances don't necessarily match mine but as a relative newbie I wouldn't mind some general guidance. How long do you commute to work? How far would be too far? Does anyone drive some of the way and park?

Any advice is much appreciated :-)

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
I'm a park and bike person, though I get a lift with my husband and then cycle from there. He leaves his car in a a large free car park (shopping centre), near his work, and then I do about 10 miles from there. The bike goes in the back of the car with the back seats down, though it is an estate. I'm not the only one doing it from the same location I see another couple of people doing it, and that's only on the 5 mins I'm there.

If you have the option it would be good to have more than one location/distance and to work up to a longer distance.

Ganymede

Veteran
Hello,

I'm looking to incorporate some cycling into my daily commute in order to cut down fuel costs. At the moment I drive 30 miles to work which isn't too bad but obviously the price can mount up, and as I've just 'got the bug' I'd like to put my new bike to good use.