Cycling with hay fever :(

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JozeeB

Regular
Had a great ride this evening on a lovely quiet cycle path out of town and into the country. Trouble is I really struggled with hay fever all the way and very frustrating having to keep itching my nose and eyes! Can anyone recommend anything to help? I wear cycling glasses which really help with the eyes, but I wondered if there was any kind of mask I could use which would reduce the pollen I'm breathing in?!
I'm fairly new to cycling and going to be doing the Great Manchester Cycle on Bank Holiday Monday! Can't wait! But if the pollen count's anything like today I'll be going crazy by the end!!
Thanks!

HovR

Über Member
Had a great ride this evening on a lovely quiet cycle path out of town and into the country. Trouble is I really struggled with hay fever all the way and very frustrating having to keep itching my nose and eyes! Can anyone recommend anything to help? I wear cycling glasses which really help with the eyes, but I wondered if there was any kind of mask I could use which would reduce the pollen I'm breathing in?!
I'm fairly new to cycling and going to be doing the Great Manchester Cycle on Bank Holiday Monday! Can't wait! But if the pollen count's anything like today I'll be going crazy by the end!!
Thanks!

I'd recommend against any kind of mask/filter. Just restricts breathing too much.

Are you already taking anti-hayfever/allergy tablets? They work well for me.

Dave 123

Legendary Member
Benadryl works for me. You could also try smearing vaseline around your nose and eyes to catch the pollen. Do you have any local honey producers out in leafy Cheadle?

zizou

Veteran
A combination of sunglasses, nasal spray and anti-histamine tablet help massively for me.

OP
OP
JozeeB

JozeeB

Regular
I'd recommend against any kind of mask/filter. Just restricts breathing too much.