Dales Mountain Biking

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

SoulOnIce

Dales Mountain Biking is a Mountain Biking Centre in the Yorkshire Dales. I'm new to mountain biking and I went there this weekend with a mate who is a newbie like me and another fella who is pretty experienced.

It is run by Stuart and Brenda Price. I didn't get to speak to Brenda much when I went, but Stuart is a very friendly, knowledgeable and funny guy.

They have:
- a bike shop - and they do repairs
- cafe selling cakes, tea coffee, etc
- a cycle hire shop
- shower facilities
- bike washing facilities
- accommodation in bunk houses
- they also offer biking weekends, training courses and bike repair courses

All I can say is my experience of the place was first rate. We explained to Stuart that there were two newbies and we wanted a route challenging but not impossible. But it had to be interesting enough for our more experienced mate.

Both days Stuart gave us routes that were bang on - challenging, enjoyable and just long enough (but not too short). Both the rides gave spectacular views of the Dales.

The two newbies hired bikes from the centre. The bikes were decent enough, well maintained and made our riding fun.

The accommodation was a in a four bed bunk room with a separate toilet and shower room shared with another bunk room. Beds were basic but to be honest I was well worn out from the cycling so they were more than adequate. Other facilities were fine.

It cost £21 per person per night and included a great full cooked breakfast (veggie option available) plus (decent) coffee, cereal, toast etc. Cycle hire was on top of this but was reasonable as he only charged us for two half days despite us being out for a little longer than half a day each time.