damnn gravel

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

berty bassett

Legendary Member
is it just northamptonshire that have the brainwave of putting granite chippings all over the road on a friday and leave them there till monday to sweep up so when you go for a weekend ride you have to contend with trying to ride a road similar to brighton beach - or do other counties do it as well . earls barton nearly caught me out this week and brixworth the week before - wonder where next week

ushills

Veteran
Yep, done all the residential roads by me that were previously smooth tarmac.

Youngest cut his elbow apart at weekend and we were close to having it stitched.

Top dressing is hardly a way of saving money: after what is usually a fairly short period of time (usually less than a year if the road is anoything like remotely busy) the surface has worn smooth again in the commonly-used wheeltracks. I have no expert knowledge of costings, but I'd be interested to see on what grounds Highways Departments of councils justify spending a wodge of cash on such a useless method of resurfacing a road. When you then factor in the nuisance of the job and the danger caused to us and others, it is simply daft. To me, top dressing continues because 'we have always done it' rather than having the practice analysed.

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation