Dawes Sardar: opinions please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

robgraham61

HI Guys,

I'm thinking about buying one of these bikes and as a complete novice to touring I was hoping to get some feed back from the more experienced folk in here. I'm hoping to find a bike for long distance rides which is also capable of carrying enough load to be self supported.

prod_thu_16183.jpg

Dawes Sardar Bike (2008) Frame: Alloy expedition frame
Gears: Shimano Deore LX 27 speed
Fork: Steel rigid
Headset; Black 1 1/8 A-head
Hubs; 36 hole Shimano M580 alloy black
Rims; 36 hole double wall alloy
Stem; Alloy 1 1/8 matt black with polished top cap
Handlebar; Alloy MTB riser bar in black
Brakes; Shimano M-431 V-brake
Derailleurs; Shimano M580 front & rear
Crankset; Truvativ Isoflow 44/32/22 175mm crank
Extras; 3/4 length mudgaurds with QR,Alloy carrier with straps, kick stand, alloy bottle cage.
Sizes: 18" 20" 22"
Weight; 15.5kg
Colour: Gloss black

gwhite

Über Member
These bikes are generally regarded as being of good value and particularly those with a steel frame. Not many points against them and it would be very capable for what you have in mind.

Andy in Sig

Vice President in Exile
If your budget is up to it have a look at the Thorn tourers which have the great advantage of being Rohloff equipped i.e. maintenance free gears which don't go wrong.

OP
OP
R

robgraham61

Thanks Guys,

GWhite- this frame is alloy, would that make a big difference as opposed to a steel frame? I realise it would be lighter but what about it's strength regarding carrying a heavy load?

Andy- I will have a look at the Thorn website, any particular type?

Andy in Sig

Vice President in Exile
robgraham61 said:
Thanks Guys,

GWhite- this frame is alloy, would that make a big difference as opposed to a steel frame? I realise it would be lighter but what about it's strength regarding carrying a heavy load?