Decathlon Rockrider 8.0

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

AK786

Hi

I'm thinking of getting Rockrider 8.0 2010 from decathlon. Currently priced at £399 in store.

I will be getting it under the cycle scheme, which will cost me just under £250 with helmet and bike lock.

I know the price is very good, but is the bike any good?

go easy on me I'm a newbie to cycling :tongue:

ta

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
Decathlon bikes are good value for money and well regarded. It is a mountain bike though so will be a bit heavier than a similar priced hybrid type bike, (which Decathlon also sell) which would be more suitable for road riding if you are looking for a pure commuter bike.
If you are thinking of doing some trail riding as well as commuting the Rockrider 8 looks fine and you can lock the suspension out when on the road.

Hope this helps rather than confuses.

subaqua

What’s the point
I have the rockrider 8.1 and it is a truly amazing bike. I am using it for the commute this week as i am going the "scenic route" off road for a good chunk.

its not overly heavy and takes a good amount of abuse from me.

Beebo

Firm and Fruity
I use a 2001 Decathalon Rockrider (before they started branding them B'Twin) as my second commuter when my Hybrid is off the road. It is a great bike for the price and has done me proud over 10 years.

It has slick tyres to run better on the roads, but it is about 3-4 mph slower over my 12 mile commute.

thecryof

I have the Rockrider 6.2 and just completed 1000 mile on it, 98% of which was off-road.

Had no problems whatsoever, love it.