Designing Hand Bike

Are users finding mobility products are unaffordable?

• yes

Votes: 2 40.0%
  • no

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • varies

Votes: 3 60.0%

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi all, Im studying product design for my a level project and need some feedback for my product. My product is a hand bike attachment that the user can clip in and go. When researching mobility equipment i have found that most mobility equipment is highly expensive and out of most people price range.

Are users finding mobility products are unaffordable?

is there a gap in the market for a product that focuses on function and price, rather than the high tech

How much would you be willing to pay for a hand bike attachment.

Products for the mobility and independent living market usually have lots of careful and expensive design, complex manufacturing, small productions runs not worthy of cheap far-eastern outsourcing and are made by small companies with few other products to balance the business. Very few people get rich this way.

raleighnut

Legendary Member
Products for the mobility and independent living market usually have lots of careful and expensive design, complex manufacturing, small productions runs not worthy of cheap far-eastern outsourcing and are made by small companies with few other products to balance the business. Very few people get rich this way.
A good point, when I built my Electric trike it cost me just under a grand for all new parts (except for the saddle which I 'borrowed' from another bike. The cheapest 'ready made' electric trike I could see on the Internet was @ £1,600 and uses the same motor.

trike 001.JPG

Sharky

Guru
I can't visualise how this would work? Is it for a solo bike, tandem or trike etc?