Devon coast to coast with 10 year old

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

motorburg

Hi all, I'm new to this and looking for a bit of advice.
I booked up for myself and my 10 year old son to cycle Devon coast to coast a while ago but now the date is approaching fast I'm getting a bit worried.
I've been taking him out on his new frog bike for some 5 mile rides and have done a 10 mile which he seemed OK with.
I think we are doing 10 miles first day then 30 then 20 then 20.
Has anybody done this type of trip or will it be to much to ask from him.
Any help would be appreciated
Thanks neil

raleighnut

Legendary Member
Didn't @Puddles take her 2 little uns touring.

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
He'll be OK as long as he can do 10-20 miles. Remember that you've a whole day to do that distance. It'll be steady and you'll enjoy it I'm sure.

For reference my 11 year-old's doing the C2C from Workington to Sunderland over the half-term; 30 miles on the afternoon, then 45 of hills, then 60 to finish. He's been training at the weekends doing a 45 mile ride on Saturdays in preparation.

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
Are you starting in Ilfracombe? It's the lumpy day I think though I remember a couple of other hills.

Just be prepared to listen to how he is doing.... And the weather. When I did it with Mr Summerdays we had torrential rain one day and had to cut that day short when he became very cold.

OP
OP
M

motorburg

thanks everyone for there replies.
Good to hear of other children cycling.
And wow 45 mile training rides, maybe I should of took him further ha ha.
We are getting the train to Barnstaple and confident he will be ok to our first stop in Biddeford.
It's the second day to oakhampton I'm worried about and what will happen if he has had enough.
Maybe could take wheels off and put bikes in taxi?
But anyway better think positive that he can do it as he a fit healthy boy and will be 11 in August.
Thanks again...

Puddles