Disc Brakes on touring bikes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GrumpyGregry

Here for rides.
Greg
When I asked what pads,I should've asked what compound?
I'm no expert on different pads as I only ever use Organic but I believe Sintered are harder than Organic so would/should(?) last longer.
Of course that only counts if you're using Organics
when I said the tandem was on its third set of pads,now I've checked the rear rear is on the third set (October last year) the front is still on its second.
I'm finding the pads from Superstar Components good kit and @ £18 for three sets good value too.
Organic. Superstar are good value aren't they.
Downside of sintered if your big/heavy is rotor wear.
I fancy a pair of Ashima SOS Dual compound for the mtb.
getsizelargest

John the Monkey

Frivolous Cyclist
It doesn't seem so long since the general word seemed to be that "the laws of science prove that disc brakes on dropped bar bikes mean they are impossible and in any case discs on tourers will cause the forks to snap off if you try and brake even at 1mph"
There are problems, and the frame and fork need to be capable of withstanding the forces.

Admittedly, the bike was a tandem, but I've seen reports of a fork bent by the braking force of discs (the disc tabs were brazed onto a fork originally designed for rim brakes, apparently).

john wood

I'm wondering if many people here have come across the Andra CSS (Carbide Super Sonic) rims? I have them on my tourer (Thorn Nomad), used with Swisstop Blue brake pad, Shimano XTR M970 V-brakes.