Disc/V-Brake handles

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Possibly a daft question, but unfortunately I have limited experience of disk brakes so it's unlikely to be the last.

A customer has brought in a BSO with cable operated disk brakes. The front brake and shifter are smashed beyond repair.

I remember reading that V-Brake levers and disk brake levers were interchangeable. Is this the case or is my memory playing tricks again?

If not, are there any features of doisk brake levers that would help identification?

Yes that is true. If its Shimano brake levers for flat handlebars you may have a setting option for v/disc and then caliper/roller/canti as the other option so will need to make sure its on the right setting but most cable brake levers nowadays are just straight V/mechanical disc in my experience.

Yes that is true. If its Shimano brake levers for flat handlebars you may have a setting option for v/disc and then caliper/roller/canti as the other option so will need to make sure its on the right setting but most cable brake levers nowadays are just straight V/mechanical disc in my experience.

Thanks @bonzobanana : I didn't know that Canti levers work for roller/caliper brakes as well, so that will come in useful too...

Reactions: C R

T4tomo

Legendary Member
If its flat bar bike, then yes cable operate discs will 99% be a direct pull V brake lever.

There are now "drop bar" version cable discs which work off a "normal" drop bar lever, which as pointed out above, work with road callipers. and Canti brakes.

and also the joker in the pack worth remembering, especially for converting flat bars to drops are tektro RL520 levers, which are drop bar levers that are direct pull for V brakes (then you need appropriate bar end gear shifters. - popular setup on some touring bikes with such a 9 speed deore gears to give a wide range at the back and a front triple.