Dishwasher tablets

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan
Hi all. I'm fairly new to dishwashers.

I was bought a pack of Fairy Platinum Plus tablets to use; they clean very well but leave a funny taste on everything. The worst being on plastic/silicone things like strainers etc.

Just wondered if there is any way around this, other than use something else, and what do you all use? I've heard of dishwasher salt but don't know what it does (I'm guessing it aids rinsing and might also prevent sopay taste?).

Or am I just being fussy with my £7.50/pack Fairy, and should use supermarket own brand stuff, or maybe just Great Auntie Nora's bi-carb?

vickster

Legendary Member
Hi all. I'm fairly new to dishwashers.

I was bought a pack of Fairy Platinum Plus tablets to use; they clean very well but leave a funny taste on everything. The worst being on plastic/silicone things like strainers etc.

Just wondered if there is any way around this, other than use something else, and what do you all use? I've heard of dishwasher salt but don't know what it does (I'm guessing it aids rinsing and might also prevent sopay taste?).

Or am I just being fussy with my £7.50/pack Fairy, and should use supermarket own brand stuff, or maybe just Great Auntie Nora's bi-carb?

I avoid the lemon ones like the plague (original only)! Fairy non platinum first choice, followed by fairly basic Finish ones, I buy whichever of the two is on special, XL Bags. e.g.
https://groceries.asda.com/product/...her-tablets-regular-60-capsules/1000383163142
or https://groceries.asda.com/product/...her-tablets-original-75-tablets/1000383162726

I don't bother with anything that says platinum, ultimate, quantum or similar nonsense. Rinse stuff first if mucky

You also need dishwasher salt for water softening (and rinse aid)

Last edited:

wonderloaf

Veteran