DIY Probate

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Chris S

Legendary Member
I am the executor of a will of someody who is about to die. I had a bad experience with a solicitor when I sold my flat so I am seriously considering carrying out the probate myself.

There is only one beneficiary of the will and the only assets are a house and some savings accounts. The only debtors will be utility companies. I know this because I have been managing their affairs for the past three years.

There seems to be plenty of online advice about this, e.g:
https://probate.which.co.uk/how-probate-works/diy-probate/#DIY

Does anybody have any experience of carrying out probate themselves ?

D

Deleted member 26715

From what you say it should be straight forward, I have no experience but when my mother dies my sister did it & it wasn't too bad, the probate office is based in Birmingham I think & she said they were very helpful. I would also recommend joining http://legalbeagles.info/forums/ to ask any questions that you are unsure of they are very knowledgeable.

Poacher

Gravitationally challenged member
Echoing what @Phaeton said, it should be straightforward.
My advice, for what it's worth.
After my mother's death, a copy of "What to do when someone dies" was a useful checklist - now it's probably online here. Use official guidance, not a commercial site.
Keep written records of everything you do as executor.
Decide how many copies of the death certificate you need, and add at least two.
Set up a spreadsheet to keep track of assets, liabilities (including your expenditure on funeral costs, death certificates, probate and incidentals) and distribution details (should be simple in this case).
Open a bank account in the name "Exors of <deceased name>" and use it for all transactions in relation to the will.
Decide how many copies of grant of probate you need, and add at least two.
Probate officials are, in my experience, sympathetic and very helpful.