Do frames go "dead" with age?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Due to a nasty bout of gout making walking, standing and cycling impossible, I sat in the sun this afternoon, servicing and polishing an alloy wheel. I started thinking about something I read the other day on another forum: the poster was claiming that aluminium bikes went "dead" after a few years.
I've read claims before about steel and titanium frames losing their spring after a certain time, and while I have no experience of Ti, I'm sure the idea of steel frames deadening is rubbish, and this forum probably wouldn't exist if this were so!

Does this idea that ali "goes off" come from the same nonsensical school of thought, or might there be something in this?

If there is some evidence to support this then there are some obvious implications for our hobby - the wheels I was lovingly stroking while I was thinking about the issue for one thing, but also, people are beginning to look at early aluminium frames as collectible

Crandoggler

Sounds like a load of old cock.

OP
OP
mikeymustard
That's my view, where do these rumours [assertions?] come from? The poster was quite emphatic that this was true

steve50

Disenchanted Member
Steel frames if not looked after will corrode and break, alluminium if neglected can also degrade and corrode but we are well aware that if looked after vintage bikes will carry on being usable for decades, so yes i agree that someone was talking codswallop.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
That's my view, where do these rumours [assertions?] come from? The poster was quite emphatic that this was true
I can recall being told this many years ago in a bike shop in Exeter. Sounded like bull at the time and I have heard it since but not for a while. No idea where it originates from.

biggs682

Touch it up and ride it