Does anyone not bother with the brevet card?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

SoloRider

Über Member
I've joined Audax UK with the intention of doing 100 to 150k rides. When I read of the time lost at controls and all the queueing I wonder if it is going to be a pain.

So, as I'm not in this for any points or competetive element, I'm wondering if I could make life a whole lot easier by just doing the ride and clearing off afterwards - does anyone do this?

Banjo

Fuelled with Jelly Babies
Im new to audaxing as well. I can understand your not wanting to que up but it doesnt seem in the spirit of the thing not to bother. Time limits are pretty generous so its not as if you need to save a few minutes.

In one cafe stop at lunchtime they were taking ages to serve people I couldnt be bothered waiting so went to the front and asked for just a stamp on the card which the girl there did no problem but other than that the que is a good place for a chat with other riders.

Longest one i have done so far is a 160 , hope to do a 200 later in the year if i can but like you i am not really bothered about collecting points and awards, just enjoy the ride and a bit of company out there.

Have to admit it is a nice momento of the ride when your card comes back through the letterbox a few weeks later.

yello

I also used to be a bit sniffy about brevet cards. That is, it didn't bother me whether the organiser sent my completed one on to me or not. I knew I done the ride and didn't need confirmation. When I received it, I'd toss it into a shoe box with the others.

I'd never NOT complete one on the ride though. That seems a little unusual to me. Why pay the money and ride the audax if you're not going to get your card stamped? That's all part of it, imho. Otherwise, you might just as well go out for a ride by yourself!