E-bike camping

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cakeface

Hi all I'm thinking of taking my self off for a weeks camping tour on my e-bike. I have no experience of campsites, do facilities usually include somewhere to recharge batteries? Not contemplating any of this Ray Mears wild camping lark.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Where are you thinking of going? I've seen "Ecotap" e-bike charging points (green pillars next to bike stands) in the Netherlands, but it's probably safest to check with sites first.

rualexander

Legendary Member
Most campsites have electricity hook-up sites for campervans and caravans, just ask for one when you check in to the campsite, and plug your bike battery into the hook-up using whatever cable you use at home plus a suitable adapter for the hook-up point.

Depending on what time you arrive and want to leave, it may be cheaper to ask if you can charge the battery overnight in the office, £1 extra to a local charity vs £5 extra for an official electric pitch.

I've found on my travels that ..........
The UK and northern europe tends to use the blue waterproof adapter.
Southern and eastern europe tend to use their local domestic plug.

Topfmine