Edmund King, President of the AA....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Drago

Legendary Member
He is indeed a tool. They should stick to fixing cars and selling insurance, and not waste members money getting involved in stuff that does nothing to further their business interests.

deptfordmarmoset

Full time tea drinker
I missed the piece but such nonsense is a real disappointment. I'd always felt pretty positive about him because of his concern for cyclist safety. He's generally pretty pro-cyclist.

Joffey

Big Dosser
50mph limits are fine when you see workmen actually working, as a driver I find myself paying more attention when people are wandering around on the side of the carriageway. I think the problem is the miles and miles of 50mph speed limits on works where no one is working. You should be allowed to drive at higher speeds through these unless they are taking you on to the other carriageway for example.

Jimidh

Veteran
Although I agree that the speed limit should be set at what’s the appropriate speed for the road layout / works you will always get tools that drive way to fast for the conditions no matter what the speed limit is.

DRHysted

Guru
I could understand removing the speed limit when the workers are not there if the speed limit is innocent place to protect workers. The most amusing set of works I’ve driven past at 50 was 2 miles of conned off hard shoulder with a portaloo the other side of the crash barrier (not even on the hard shoulder) at the end.

srw

It's a bit more complicated than that...
[QUOTE 5007287, member: 45"]And the findings are that drivers were anxious when around bullying, dangerous driving[/QUOTE]

No. The findings, of a very small study, were that drivers had lower heart-rates while driving at higher speeds. The link to dangerous driving is a hypothesis.

theclaud

Openly Marxist