Electrolyte Drinks

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

doog

Anyone use them ? Not a beginner but a beginner in relation to this stuff as its always been water and cereal bars. I have never used them before but did today thanks to a free pack and having loads hanging around the house.

What a difference! I guess this stuff exists for a reason. 65 extremely hilly miles and I feel 'normal' . 2 bottles , one with a tablet and one with some powder (both High 5). I am usually hanging after that ride.

Trust me Ive had some long days in my time on tour but thats usually snacking / coffee / the usual touring stopping every 30 minutes stuff but I can honestly say that this is the best I have felt after a roadie type 'day ride' as such.

Can one of resident roadie wizards explain why I feel so good ? It would be good to know because I am ordering some more of this stuff and hope it isnt the placebo effect..

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
I use them when the weather is warm to hot. They just put back the minerals you lose when you sweat. Some people prefer to make their own with a pinch of salt. I changed to them as they have no sugars in. I would rather not use one of the carb drinks as I don't want a sugar mouth wash every time I go out for a ride. I still fuel with food before and during the ride (on longer rides) but I don't cramp when using electrolyte tabs and also don't get post ride mild headaches which I used to get with just water or squash as a drink.

OP
OP
doog

doog