Finally dipping my toe in the water....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cyclingsheep

I've been after a vintage bike as a project for a while, now after several failed bids I've landed myself a '53 Claud Butler All Rounder with it seems all original parts (only pedals I'm unsure of). It's definitely in need of some TLC but I've got plenty of time. Question is, where do I start? What do I do first? Frame has some pitting, it obviously needs some spit and polish but what do I use to bring the wheels, brakes etc back to life?
Please be gentle with me as I'm new to this restoration lark.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
The best thing to do would be to put up some pics and then we can get an idea of what needs to be done. I am not really an expert but it shouldn't take too much effort to get it into shape. Biggs682 has done a few of these and I am sure he will be along to offer his advice soon.

OP
OP
cyclingsheep

cyclingsheep

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

How far do you want to go with it? Full restoration, sympathetic restoration, a make it usable restoration? So many choices.

My tip, set a budget and be sure to stick to it. These things, while extremely satisfying, do have a habit of taking your budget chewing it up and spitting it out.

Don't ask how I know this :whistle:

OP
OP
cyclingsheep

cyclingsheep

Haha, I've almost let my budget get away with me just looking for the bike so I can see how a full restoration could get out of hand. I want to be able to ride it and think I'm more for the sympathetic restoration than a full restoration. I know there are a lot of opinions on this but I'd love to see it gleaming again and am tempted to have it repainted the original red wine colour but for now just gleaming and usable will be fine.

If it were me I'd completely strip it down and clean all the components, inspecting everything as I go.