Finding it difficult to get my heart rate up

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
As the title says, I'm finding it difficult to get my heart rate up on the bike and feel like I'm hammering it.

Normally when climbing or sprinting I end up labouring, with my heart pounding, breathing hard and sweat pouring off me and really feeling like my cardiovascular system is fighting hard, but recently, it feels like nothing I do can raise my heart rate or perceived effort, instead, I get burning muscles and slow right down with no fight.

This is a completely new phenomenon to me and I've been cycling for 9 years now.
Ordinarily any time I've gotten lactic buildup has either also involved the symptoms of a big cardio effort, or has been on a long day in the saddle.

To show the extent at which it's affecting me, today I was riding on a flat former railway path with a tailwind and reasonable tarmac, but moving at more than 10mph made the lactic buildup intolerable (I'd normally ride these at about 17mph without much exertion), and climbing hills after the first few miles brought me to a mighty 2-4mph pace, with none of the usual symptoms of cardio effort, just the wretched burning sensation.

Anyone encountered this before or have any ideas why this is happening?

Thanks
Ed

Tribanite

either your lactic build up has increased, so that your cardio isn't being pushed OR your cardio is so good right now, you need a bigger push.
try cycling with added weight, either with a different bike or a rucksack full of stuff. then come back and report.

after 9 years of cycling - i'm guessing your cardio system isn't being pushed enough

OP
OP
E

Edwardoka

Thanks for the answers, guys.

either your lactic build up has increased, so that your cardio isn't being pushed OR your cardio is so good right now, you need a bigger push.